Internal


Dr Igor Almeida

Igor Almeida, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
The University of Texas at El Paso
Email: icalmeida@utep.edu

Dr Castaneda picture

Maria Alvarez, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biology
El Paso Community College, Transmountain Campus
Email: malva279@epcc.edu

Dr Castaneda picture

Edward Castañeda, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Psychology
The University of Texas at El Paso
Email: ecastaneda9@utep.edu

Dr Ferreira-Pinto picture

Joao Batista Ferreira-Pinto, Ph.D.

Director, Research and Special Projects,
College of Health Sciences
Director, Center for Interdisciplinary Health Research 
and Evaluation (CIHRE)
The University of Texas at El Paso
Email: joao@utep.edu

Dr Gates picture

Ann Q. Gates, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair, Department of
Computer Science
Director, Cyber-ShARE Center

The University of Texas at El Paso
Email: agates@utep.edu

Dr Khan picture

Peter Golding, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Metallurgical &
Materials Engineering

The University of Texas at El Paso
Email: pgolding@utep.edu

Dr Khan picture

Arshad Mahmood Khan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of
Biological Sciences

The University of Texas at El Paso
Email: amkhan2@utep.edu

Dr Whalen picture

Ophra Leyser-Whalen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology
The University of Texas at El Paso
Email: oleyserwhalen@utep.edu

Dr Leung picture

Ming-Ying Leung, Ph.D.

Professor, Mathematical Sciences
Director, Bioinformatics and Computational
Science Programs

The University of Texas at El Paso
Email: mleung@utep.edu

Dr Khan picture

Keith Pannell, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Chemistry
Director, UTEP MARC Program

The University of Texas at El Paso
Email: kpannell@utep.edu


External Steering Committee Members

In addition to the entire leadership team, the following individuals are external members of the BUILDing SCHOLARS steering committee.

Anissa J. Brown, Ph.D.

Program Official, Division of Training, Workforce Development, and Diversity
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
National Institutes of Health
Email: anissa.brown@nih.gov

David Banks, Ph.D.

Project Scientist, Office of Extramural Programs
National Institute of Nursing Research
National Institutes of Health
Email: david.banks@nih.gov

Carlos Cabrera, Ph.D.

Director, NASA Center for Innovation, Education and Research
Co-director, Molecular Sciences Center
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras, PR
Email: carlos.cabrera2@upr.edu

Pratibha Varma-Nelson, Ph.D.

Director, STEM Education Innovation Research Institute
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Email: pvn@iupui.edu

Andrés J. García, Ph.D., F.B.S.E.*

Rae S. and Frank H. Neely Chair and Regents’ Professor
Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering
Petit Institute for Bioengineering and Bioscience
Georgia Institute of Technology
Email: andres.garcia@me.gatech.edu

 

 

*effective 2017

Other Programs

COURI

SMART Mind

SURME

 

BUILDing SCHOLARS

500 W. University Ave.

CCSB G.0706

El Paso, TX, 79968

915.747.8717

buildingscholars@utep.edu

 

Back to Top